Loading...

Testimonials

Celebrating the Uniqueness of Life

Testimonials

Many families reach out after the conclusion of the services to let us know how much our support and guidance meant to them in their time of need, and we’re honored to receive such heartfelt praise. We feel that these messages speak for themselves and we’d like to share them with you.

Leave Us a Review On Google

If you feel we’ve gone above and beyond in supporting you through this difficult time, or would simply like to reach out and say thanks, contact us to share your thoughts or submit a testimonial below. It means the world to us to hear from you and know that we’ve made a difference.

Submit a Testimonial
 
 
 
 

As a consumer, this is probably the hardest but most important review you could share with others in your community. It’s the hardest because you have to feel the emotions of the loss again. Nonetheless, I had to share my gratitude to Eric Johnson and his family for their assistance during the process of planning my Dad’s June 5, 2021 burial. Over a number of months my Dad had been ill and we had him moved into the Douglas T. Jacobson State Veterans' Nursing Home. During the admissions process, mom was asked to designate a funeral home of record should one ever be needed. My Mom simply listed a friend's recommendation without doing much homework. Most of us struggle with the reality of planning for the death of a spouse or parent. I currently live in Northern Virginia so I was in no position to second guess mom’s choice. Dad passed away on Mother’s Day morning, May 9, 2021 and taken to the business she listed that claims to offer funeral and cremation services. I wanted to spare my mom the heartache of handling all the paperwork, phone calls and details of preparing Dad for cremation. Luckily I was able to do 99% of the work over the phone. I will tell you that it was difficult to get straight answers about their processes or exactly when Dad would be cremated. I would also tell you that I would have never imagined that Dad would be taken from Charlotte County to ANOTHER county to be cremated. They never disclosed this to us. I only found this out because I called one day and they kept confusing information regarding his death certificate and which county should be listed on it. I learned that they were a newer company, a chain and located in a shopping center - not a stand alone building and don’t perform these very personal, delicate services on their premises! Apparently they occupy a former deli. Again, I live out of state so I never laid eyes on the business. My mom decides that she would like to have Dad's cremains buried in the local cemetery in Punta Gorda. I called the funeral home and they informed me that they did not perform burials despite having the word “funeral” in their name. They did offer to deliver the cremains to me at the cemetery for $250 if I needed them dropped off to us in Punta Gorda! If that’s the case they could have brought him by the house on the way back to Port Charlotte from Ft. Myers! Well, I was in a jam. Mommy wanted a burial. I had to find help. I called another funeral home in Punta Gorda near the hospital and they said they could open the 2 x 2 hole in the ground for $1900! Mind you, this was just to dig. We owned the spot already! My grieving turned to anger and frustration. My Dad was a Koren War Veteran with 2 Purple Hearts and died with shrapnel pain in his body. Even in death, no one would help him into his final resting place? I was born and raised in Punta Gorda. My family has been here since the late 1800’s. My Dad and his family have a significant legacy here and I wanted a simple burial with dignity. I was certain I knew someone WHO KNEW someone that could help me get this done. I was directed to Eric Johnson. I explained my situation and Eric gave me a kind, reasonable and absolute solution. As I made arrangements to fly home, Eric assured me getting Dad to his forever resting place would be taken care of by a family, veteran owned and operated business with the heart and mind of caring for local families for over 20 years. Two days before the burial I was without stress because Eric and his wife Carolyn (also a veteran) had made every effort to ensure Dad’s gravesite was properly marked and prepared for the service. Eric even personally drove me out to the cemetery when I got in town to show me what to expect because our family had never experienced a burial of cremains. Folks -- he didn’t have to do that. It meant the world that he did. Lastly, the day before the service I had to transfer my Dad’s cremains from the cardboard box we got from the shopping center crematory to the urn I ordered online and had shipped to Florida ahead of me. Oh my goodness! I had ORDERED THE WRONG SIZE urn. It was too small. It was 4 PM the evening before the 10 AM service. I frantically called Eric’s cell phone fully expecting him to be unavailable. I couldn’t be mad either. However, to my surprise, I was able to reach Eric and not only did he take the call but he welcomed me to come right over and he would be able to assist me. Folks, not only was Eric able to get me the urn I needed at the very last hour but I purchased it at the same completely reasonable price. At no point did he ever try to up sell or offer more than we needed for the occasion. Ultimately, the goal of my review was to encourage healthy, open discussion about end of life planning BEFORE you are thrown into it. I also want anyone within the service distance of Johnson Taylor Funeral Home to know that it is the best and safest phone call to make when the time comes to make these very delicate and heartfelt decisions. Eric, Carolyn and their team will get your family through the process. You will feel supported and prepared. They will take the journey with you, not take advantage of you. For their kindness and support my mother and I are forever grateful.

Saletta Coleman

August 09, 2021

In our. Darkest time we found ourselves need their services , I can’t say it enough how Eric Johnson And his staff came through for us they went above and beyond and only our faith and their help got us through this I would recommend Johnson an Taylor To anyone in need the quality was amazing we can’t thank them enough .

Randi Goffe

July 28, 2021

Can’t thank you enough for going above and beyond for my husbands services! I can’t imagine anyone that could make such a difficult situation as peaceful and easy. I would’ve been absolutely lost without your help, and was so impressed with the final results, meticulous care and compassion. Forever grateful to you, Eric!

Bonnie Beach

July 27, 2021

Johnson-Taylor are the best of the very best in their profession. The care and respect that was taken in preparing our loved one for our final goodbyes was a gift. We wanted to thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Linda Frohmander

June 29, 2021

I am writing this review on behalf of my uncle (Albert) and entire family. At the end of May we lost his son and every encounter with the staff here was absolutely mind-blowing. The support and love felt through the entire cremation process can never be repaid. Thank you to each and everyone one of you for making such a difficult time a little less harder. God bless!

Brittany Hueston

June 05, 2021

My brother passed away very unexpectedly last year in May 2020. Coming up on his anniversary I’m reminded of the great personal service provide by Johnson- Taylor. Micah, Eric and Carolyn went above and beyond to make my family as comfortable as possible while trying to grieve this loss. During the peak of the pandemic they did whatever they could to accommodate us and help us feel safe while still giving us the opportunity to properly mourn this loss in an appropriate, respectful setting. Dealing with Johnson Taylor was probably the easiest part of dealing with our tragedy and my family will always remember that. I fully recommend Johnson Taylor to anyone looking to pay respects to a lost loved one.

Kenneth Rivera

May 10, 2021

With such an awful thing to have to go through Eric and Caroline helped make the experience a thoughtful and memorable experience. They have a true family business to help families go through such a painful life experience. Thank you 🙏

Shirley Wiant

October 12, 2020

Eric and team were phenomenal to work with during a very difficult time for our family. They went above and beyond in helping make arrangements and providing a wonderful service. Highly recommend them!

Charles Ratcliff

July 27, 2020

Thanks to Eric and the whole team at Johnson Taylor. They recently took care of my wife’s mom and made the cremation process very easy and as painless as possible. I would highly recommend them!

Michael & Grace Eisbrouch

June 18, 2020

Eric at Johnson-Taylor was absolutely amazing during a very traumatic time. My father-in-law passed away over the weekend and I called around to four different homes for pricing due to their low-income and Heritage Cremation gave us the best price ($995) so we went with them. After retrieving his remains they sent us a bill for $1495. When we asked them about this they argued and said it didn’t matter what they said on the phone. Kiersten proceeded to tell myself and my wife how she didn’t care if she was rude or how we felt and that the director quoted us originally but he wasn’t there and it didn’t really matter. HOW someone could do this at such a trying time in someone’s life is baffling and it has been an awful awful time for us. Where does Johnson-Taylor come in? I called a few more home to ask for advice. Eric got back to me immediately and tried to help. He offered a lower rate to off-set the cost and made phone calls for us. I am so upset I did not speak with him sooner. You could tell he really really cares about people and understands what it’s like to be in a difficult position. Of course, Heritage has an outrageous fee to move the remains of our loved one, so we are unable to make a change. Eric totally understood and told us he was happy to be able to help us in any way during this time. I HAD to leave him an outstanding review. If you are looking for someone who truly cares and won’t screw you or take advantage of you during a difficult time, call this funeral home!!!! I could not be more impressed with his professionalism. He calmed me down when I needed it. Thank you again Eric!!!!!!!!!!

Samantha Jean Hoagland

January 22, 2020

I can only speak highly of Eric & Carolyn, and their entire staff for taking such wonderful care of my step father and entire family- for the unexpected passing of my mom Barbara. This couple bent over backwards to make everything perfect. This experience was personal and they made everything feel as if everyone was included in the celebration of my mom's life. I asked them if they could give me my mom's handprint- and they did with no hesitation. Barbara looked so natural & beautiful. Your mind will be at peace if you choose them to handle the passing of a loved one. I truly cannot thank them enough.

Julie Coyle

January 03, 2020

The new owners, Eric and Carolyn Johnson, who accepted the reigns after Larry Taylor’s untimely passing, are a perfect mix of efficiency, warmth, kindness, and compassion. I attended an extremely heartwarming memorial today. They tenderly honored Barb Bruner’s passing while compassionately acknowledging her family and friends’ heartbreaking loss. Their kindness, class, and caring was reflected in the entire day. I wholeheartedly recommend their services and that they are Veteran-owners explains why their efforts are so successful; they truly understand.

Jan Behling

December 29, 2019

I just recently lost my husband and chose them to take care of things and it was the best decision I ever made. They are soo kind and caring and treated us like family!! I will definitely recommend them to anyone who wants a beautiful nicely done respectable stressfree funeral service for their loved one. Thank you for everything

Alexa Jenkins

December 21, 2019

Very friendly, compassionate people. Professional, and family oriented.

James Gainvors

September 17, 2019

 

Johnson-Taylor Funeral & Cremation
Phone: (941) 833-0600
1515 Tamiami Trl, Punta Gorda, FL 33950


© Johnson-Taylor Funeral & Cremation
Crafted with care by Frazer Consultants & TA

 

Privacy Policy & Terms of Use